Bikram Yoga

Bikram Yoga is a traditional style of Hatha Yoga from northern India. This holistically therapeutic yoga is known as the original hot yoga. It consists of a series of 26 postures or "asanas" and two breathing exercises. It is a beginner's series taught in a 90 or a 60 minute class. Each pose is a challenge based on one's personal abilities. The postures are done in the safe environment of a heated room in order to relieve one's body resistance without risking injury.

This yoga series is strength-based. What makes this style unique is that rather than flowing through postures (one breath per motion), you spend time in postures for your body to strengthen and remember them. The postures are cardiovascular and will elevate your heart-rate to burn calories. 

The beauty of this yoga is that it can be practiced by anyone--it’s safe for beginners but challenging for veterans. In the same class, you will find teenagers, professional athletes and seniors. By the end of a class session, you will have worked every muscle, tendon, joint, ligament, organ and gland while systematically moving fresh oxygenated blood throughout the body. The result is a restoration of health to all systems. As you increase strength, flexibility and balance in your body, you will be energized, you will revitalize your mind, and you will progress towards eliminating conditions of daily stress and fatigue.

All teachers are Bikram-certified with 500+ hours of training.

Benefits Of Bikram Yoga

  • Burns body fat and elevates metabolism

  • Reduces stress

  • Increases flexibility

  • Builds strength and endurance

  • Increases muscle tone

  • Helps with back, neck, shoulder, and knee pain

  • Improves quality of sleep

  • Improves posture

  • Improves circulation

  • Reduces risk of injury

  • Raises energy level

  • Increases balance, coordination, focus and discipline

  • Improves healthy and balanced functioning of the skeletal, muscular, circulatory, digestive, respiratory, endocrine and nervous systems of the body

  • Strengthens the immune system